The City of Cortez has released the unofficial results for the 2022 Cortez City Council election. The election results remain unofficial until the completion of the canvas of the election, set to take place on April 15, 2022.  This time frame allows for the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voter Act (UOCAVA) votes to be received as well as signature verification of those that were rejected.  Once deemed official, the City of Cortez will send out notice on April 15, 2022 with the official record from the Judges. 

City Manager Drew Sanders said, “The City of Cortez had record turnout this year and it is so great to see so many residents of Cortez participate in the election process.  We are also grateful for the work of our City Clerk, Linda Smith, and our Deputy City Clerk, Donna Murphy, for running such a high-quality election process.  They have been very diligent every step of the way to ensure the fairness and integrity of the election. We also need to thank the election judges and our Montezuma County partners who helped make this possible.  On behalf of all City staff, we look forward to working with our new Council.”

The 2022 election had a record number 1708 ballots returned.  

Please contact Cortez City Clerk Linda Smith at 970-564-4008 or lsmith@cortezco.gov with any questions regarding the 2022 Cortez City Council election.

 Vote Breakdown By Candidate

2022 Municipal Election Information:

Election Calendar

2022 Election Information

2022 Cortez City Council Ballot Order Information

2022 Election Sample Ballot

Public Notice

The City of Cortez Municipal Election was held on Tuesday, April 5, 2022, pursuant to Article IV of the Charter of the City of Cortez, the purpose being to fill four (4) positions on the Cortez City Council taking office on the 26th day of April, 2022.  There shall be elected three council members for terms of four years each and one council member for a term of two years.

Candidates for election must be 21 years of age or older, a registered elector, and a resident of the City of Cortez for one (1) year preceding the date of the election.   The mayor shall receive compensation of five hundred dollars per month.  Each of the councilmembers shall receive as compensation four hundred dollars per month.  No council person shall receive a payment for a meeting which he or she did not attend.   

Petitions and Certificate of Nomination forms may be obtained from the City Clerk’s office at 123 Roger Smith Avenue, Cortez, CO, on or following the 4th day of January, 2022, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.   Completed certificates and petitions must be filed in the City Clerk’s office no later than 5:00 p.m., on Monday, January 24, 2022.

For further information contact the City Clerk’s office at 564-4008.

Current Cortez City Council:

Mayor Rachel Medina (elected in 2020 for 4 year seat)

Mayor Pro-tem Arlina Yazzie (elected in 2020 for 4 year seat)

Councilmember Mathew Keefauver (elected in 2022 for 4 year seat)

Councilmember Robert Dobry (elected to 2022 for 2 year seat)

Councilmember David Rainey (elected in 2020 for 4 year seat) 

Councilmember Lydia DeHaven (elected in 2022 for 4 year seat)

Councilmember Dennis Spruell (elected in 2022 for 4 year seat)

For more information, contact the City Clerk’s office at 564-4008.